Skip to content ↓

Footsteps – ASC Unit

Footsteps is our specialist provision, catering for primary aged children who have a diagnosis of ASC (Autistic Spectrum Condition) and are not accessing mainstream education.

The children in Footsteps all have an Educational Health Care Plan for their specific needs and all are referred to us via the local authority.

The ethos of Footsteps is to provide a caring and supportive learning environment that encourages positive behaviour and where everyone in the school community feels valued, safe and respected. We consider promoting and teaching positive behaviour as central to ensuring academic achievement, independence and community participation.

Our Journey (so far):

Footsteps opened in September 2018, with just 4 children and 3 staff. Since then, it has grown in numbers as children from the local area and wider county attend the provision. 

The school were granted the opportunity to build a brand new ASC unit in 2017 and began to formulate ideas as to how they would redevelop part of the school so that it could cater to the needs of up to 10 children with an ASC diagnosis.

After many consultations with architects, designers and the local authority, they were finally given the go ahead in early 2018. The unit was built during the summer of 2018 and our first children arrived at the beginning of the academic year.

Once the unit was formally opened by the Mayor of Leicestershire, the children and staff were able to set about creating a learning and working environment that could best help some of the most vulnerable children in the county. 

The team in the unit are all trained to work with children who are on the Autism Spectrum where behaviour is the biggest barrier to their learning. 

If you have any enquiries regarding the unit, please feel free to contact the school and ask to speak with Mr Tunde Idowu-Read. Alternatively, you can speak to SENA regarding the provision. 

The Staff:

Lead Teacher

Mr Tunde Idowu-Read

Miss Imogen Warwick


Miss Imogen Warwick

Mr Matthew Newman

HLTA (Autism Specialist) Mrs Julia Moore

Mrs Ewa Casey 

Miss Paige Towler

Miss Victoria Hickling

Mr Ollie Sutton

Mr Matthew Newman

Miss Hania Manning

Miss Amie De Lima